cadThe Laureate’s Choice is a new project from The Poetry Business, working in collaboration with the poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy.

Four new and previously unpublished poets have been selected by the laureate as ‘ones to watch’, and pamphlet collections of their work are to be published under the Poetry Business’s award-winning smith|doorstop imprint. 

The pamphlets will be launched with a reading tour held in venues across England between summer and autumn of 2015, including one event with the poets reading alongside the laureate. 

The first readings of the tour will see David Borrott, Nichola Deane, Rachel McCarthy and Wayne Price reading at the Bridlington Poetry Festival on Sunday 22 June.  Further readings in the tour will be held in London, Manchester, Nottingham and Exeter, with others to be announced. 

Updates will be posted here


The Poetry Business: office@poetrybusiness.co.uk / 0114 3463037


The Poetry Business is a poetry publisher and writer development agency.  It publishes books, pamphlets, audio and eBooks under the smith|doorstop imprint; edits a literary magazine, The North; and runs Writing Days, masterclasses, residential courses, and a Writing School for published poets. It also runs the annual Book & Pamphlet Competition. 

Its poets have won or been shortlisted for almost every major poetry prize, and smith|doorstop Books was awarded the 2012 Michael Marks Award. 

Andrew Motion described The Poetry Business as “one of the most vital and vitalising literary organisations in the country”, and Alan Jenkins (TLS) judged smith|doorstop a “byword for excellence”. 


Carol Ann Duffy is a poet and playwright. She is Professor of Contemporary Poetry at Manchester Metropolitan University, and was appointed poet laureate in May 2009. 

Her collections include Standing Female Nude (1985), winner of a Scottish Arts Council Award; Selling Manhattan (1987), which won a Somerset Maugham Award; Mean Time (1993), which won the Whitbread Poetry Award; and Rapture (2005), winner of the T. S. Eliot Prize.

She was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 1995, Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2002, and Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in the 2015 New Year Honours for services to poetry.